Lifting, building mass, and hypopituitarism

fort

Hi all,

I'm somewhat of an unusual case, and I thought this would be the place to ask for advice. I have panhypopituitarism, which means that my pituitary is inactive, and I have to take some hormones orally (hydrocortisone and dessicated thyroid) or by injection (testosterone and GH). The dose is physiological, that is, it is supposed to bring my hormones levels within the range of healthy adults, and not beyond. I have blood tests every six months, in case anything needs tweaking.

I've been doing Stronglifts 5x5 for a couple of years now, and proress has been slow. I take longer to recover than most, and I don't build muscle as easily. I wanted to see if anyone any suggestions regarding the timing of my pills and shots, particularly my daily GH. At the moment, I administer my doses at the same times every day:

- Hydrocortisone: 20mg mane, 15mg @11am, 10mg @2pm, 5mg @5pm

My prescribed dose is less than this (5mg less for all but the last dose), but I upped it because it gets rid of my chronic pain and hyperhidrosis (constant sweating). Not sure why, need to ask my endocrinologist when I see him in December.

- Dessicated thyroid: 210mg mane, 60mg @11am, 60 mg @2pm

This is much higher than the recommended dose, but my labs come back with T3 and T4 within the reference range and I feel much better on it than on a lower dose.

- Testosterone (Nebido): 1000mg/4ml every 10 weeks.

Not much that can be changed here - I was due my shot yesterday but I'm travelling so it'll have to wait till next week. In the meantime, I'm using Androgel. Should I be seeing any strength gains in the days after the injection? What about when I'm using Androgel?

- GH (Norditropin): 3ml every day @10pm