suger???

brutalI

Gold Member
can somebody please clear this one up for me, i read in a very old bodybuilding book that eating suger is the worst mistake you could possibly make when trying to build muscle the reason being.
The pitruitry gland is what produces natural growth hormone and it is locked away in the brain very well hidden, and if you eat suger your body produces insulin and the insulin will block the pituitry gland so it can not produce any growth hormone so muscles will not grow.

Tha reason i ask is i have been training for near 3 years now and i am nowhere near the size and shape of a lot of people that have been training for 1 year. it really is doing my head in i try to put on weight by using weight gainer and lot of food this includes lots and lots of sweet puddings and sweeties just wondering if all this suger is stopping me from achieving my goals.

:confused: BRUTALI

Not just sugar but any of the high glycemic carbs. Glucose is needed by the body but not continuosely, and your body can get it from the break down of protein. Try the typical diet of moderate carbs and high protein with low fat from morning till midafternoon and higher fat with higher protein from then to sleep. HGH and IGF release are mostly from sleep and exercise as long as the necessary precursors are there.

Last edited:
for the past 2 weeks ive been eating high protien only meals no puddings or cheating at all, because im at work offshore right now its been quite easy to only eat chicken, steaks, tuna, and eggs maybe a couple of weetabix a day, ive startes doing 20 mins of cardio a day which ive never done because all i ever wanted to do was get massive, and things seem to be looking ok

Zylo..You can grow with near zero carbs.

But this requires you spend several months converting over to a ketone burning state.

But as to the fast growth desired by bbers it takes all 3 of the macronutrients in sufficient quantity.